Learn more about nursing on the medical surgical unit

Medical/Surgical Specialty Areas

Centra Health

Home > Services > Be a Centra Nurse > Medical/Surgical Specialty Areas

Medical/Surgical Specialty Areas

The Medical/ Surgical Specialty Areas at Centra Lynchburg General Hospital include six units that each provide a care environment designed and staffed to best meet patients’ needs. Patients admitted to specialty areas may come through the emergency room, physician’s office or are transferred from critical care areas or surgery.

The degree of complexity and medical stability vary significantly making the Medical/Surgical Specialty Areas an ideal place to utilize all of your clinical skills and continue to grow and expand your knowledge and experience

The Specialty Areas at Centra Lynchburg General Hospital include Diabetic/Renal, General Medical, Oncology, Orthopaedics, Pulmonary and the Surgical Care Unit.

Each unit has a unit manager and leadership team, dedicated nursing staff and a closed staffing model. Patients are admitted to the most appropriate unit based on medical conditions, needs, attending physicians and bed availability. 

Triad Model of Care

Some of the Specialty Areas utilize a model of care called the Triad Model. The Triad Model consists of care teams that include an RN, LPN and CNA working together to meet the needs of an assigned group of patients.  The model was first introduced on the Cardiac Intermediate Unit and has since been expanded to include the Diabetic/Renal. General Medical and Pulmonary Units.

The Medical/Surgical Specialty Areas offer opportunities for experienced and new graduate RNs, LPNs and CNAs. Experience in the specialty area is not a prerequisite so this a great opportunity for you to discover new areas of interest, enhance your skills and build your resume for your future.

 Hear what staff have to say about Med/Surg at Centra Lynchburg General Hospital.