Skip to main content

Volunteer at Centra

Give back to your community through service to others.
volunteer

Reach forward & serve

A variety of volunteer roles are available at Centra Hospice, Centra Lynchburg General Hospital, Centra Virginia Baptist Hospital, Centra Southside Community Hospital, Centra Bedford Memorial Hospital and many more.


Criteria for becoming a Centra volunteer:

  • A deep desire to serve in your community
  • Sign and follow a code of confidentiality
  • Become familiar with and follow hospital policies and procedures
  • Commit to a specified schedule of service
  • Attend an orientation program
  • Purchase and wear the approved volunteer uniform while on duty and serve with a smile!
  • Have TB skin testing as required and furnished by the hospital
  • Annual influenza vaccine and a completed COVID vaccine
  • A criminal background check

To volunteer at Lynchburg General or Virginia Baptist Hospitals, please fill out the corresponding application form here:

To volunteer at Southside Community Hospital or Bedford Memorial Hospital, please fill out this application form and submit it at your convenience:

To volunteer at a Centra Hospice location in Lynchburg, Bedford or Farmville, please complete and return this application form:

Volunteer Testimonal
"I'm not a doctor. I'm not a nurse, but what I can bring is a smile, hope, encouragement. I've even made a few new friends. It's my favorite part of the day. I get to be part of something bigger than myself."
— Tracy, Lynchburg General Hospital Volunteer

Contact a representative

Lynchburg General Hospital

Betsy Jones
Manager, Volunteer Services
betsy.jones@centrahealth.com
434.200.7351

Virginia Baptist Hospital

Tanya Thacker
Manager, Volunteer Services
tanya.thacker@centrahealth.com
434.200.4106

Bedford Memorial Hospital

Denise Edwards
Manager, Volunteer Services
denise.edwards@centrahealth.com
540.587.3317

Southside Community Hospital

Kerry Mossler 
Community Engagement and Relations
kerry.mossler@centrahealth.com
434.315.2445

Alan B. Pearson Regional Cancer Center

Molleigh Creammer 
Oncology Community Operations Manager
molleigh.creammer@centrahealth.com
434.200.6093

Centra Hospice

Anita Lowe
Manager, Volunteer Services
anita.lowe@centrahealth.com
434.200.7317